2023 Bates-Andrews Student Research Day

Since the 1930's, TUSDM has held this event annually to promote student research
Student presenting at Bates Day 2023
Photo Credit to Mike Ritter

On March 1, 2023, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine celebrated it's annual Bates-Andrews Student Research Day. This year’s event featured 57 student poster presentations, up from 38 last year!

It was a very successful event, and we want to acknowledge not only the award winners listed below, but ALL of the students who participated. We appreciate the dedication of the faculty advisors for their mentorship and keynote speaker Bernard Arulanandam, Ph.D., M.B.A., Tufts University Vice Provost for Research, who presented “Framing the Research Landscape: Opportunities and Challenges”. Special thanks go to the judges, the commercial exhibitors, and the Office of Alumni Relations, all of whom help make this event a success. Eileen Doherty’s guidance as Senior Director of Predoctoral Student Research, Dr. Athena Papas’s leadership as Interim Associate Dean for Research, and the work of the rest of the Research Administration Team are highly valued because their efforts enhance our students’ research experiences.

History of Bates Day

Since the 1930’s this day is held annually to honor George A. Bates, and alumnus of Tufts University School of Dental Medicine, who taught Tufts medical and dental students. He was regarded by his students as an inspiring instructor in Histology. Bates Day at TUSDM helps to promote student research and thereby enhance the opportunities for professional growth of our students, alumni and faculty. The Robert R. Andrews society is a student-run organization which was formed in 1921 in honor of Dr. Andrews, an outstanding researcher and distinguished dental surgeon. The Andrews Society seeks to promote dental research and to honor those who excel in it.


Winners of this year’s Bates-Andrews Day are as follows:

  1. Best Postgraduate Poster Presentation:Dr. Mohsen Akhaven (Pediatric Dentistry) “Dental Anomalies and Pathologies on Maxillary Occlusal Radiographs” -  Faculty mentor: Dr. Cheen Loo
  2. Best Scientific Research Presentation by a Senior (Andrews Society Award): Tamara BiarySurveying Dental Students Pre- and Post-educational Webinar on the Impact of Obesity and its Treatments on Oral Heath - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Nadine Tassabehji
  3. Dentsply Sirona SCADA Award: Demetrius Flood The Effects of Orthodontic Therapy for the Periodontitis Patient – A Scoping Review” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Samar Shaikh
  4. First Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic (cash prize donated by Dr. Steven Tonelli D80):Shafa NathaniMarginal Bone Loss Around Dental Implants with TiUnite Surface - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Evangelos Papathanasiou
  5. Second Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic (cash prize donated by Dr. Steven Tonelli D80): Samara AounDevelopment and Validation of a Survey Assessing the Oral Health Knowledge of Healthcare Interpreters” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Nicole Holland
  6. Third Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic (cash prize donated by Dr. Steven Tonelli D80): Juan ChengPerceptions of Virtual Interviews: A Dental Students’ and Program Directors’ Survey - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Gabriela Lagreca
  7. Research Committee Award for Basic Science Research: Daniel WonEffect of HOCl Solution on Streptococcus mutans and Porphyromonas gingivalis” - Faculty Mentors: Dr. Roya Zandparsa and Dr. Vasiliki Tsakalelli
  8. Massachusetts Dental Society and ASDA Public Health Award (cash prize donated by the Massachusetts Dental Society): Olivia MarinoEvaluation of Self-Reported Oral Health Scores Stratified by Sex in Zambia Oral Health Outreach Program” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. John Morgan
  9. Dr. Chad Anderson Family Award for Innovative Methodology and Research Design (cash prize donated by Dr. Chad Anderson, D04): Dr. Hillary CreedDoes Immediate Long-Span Nerve Allograft Affect the Incidence of Chronic Postsurgical and Neuropathic Pain in the Reconstructed Mandible Following Resection: An OMS Research Collaborative Project” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Maria Hernandez Nuno de La Rosa and Dr. John Zuniga
  10. Esthetic Dentistry Award (cash prize donated by Dr. Aikaterini Papathanasiou): Allison McDonough Chameleon Composites as Compared to Traditional Composite Restorative Material in Anterior Teeth Class 3 Through-and-Through Restorations” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Steven Eisen
  11. Scientific Merit Award for First-Time Presenters (cash prize donated by Dr. Matthew Finkelman): Jae JungFlexural Strength Analysis of Nightguard Materials: 3D-Printed Versus Conventional” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Gerard Kugel
  12. Bates Student Research Group “Peer-reviewed” Award: Allison McDonough Chameleon Composites as Compared to Traditional Composite Restorative Material in Anterior Teeth Class 3 Through-and-Through Restorations” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Steven Eisen
  13. ADEA Student Group Educational Research Award: Sheryl ZhangErgonomics Knowledge, Attitudes, and Practice Among TUSDM Students and Faculty” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Gabriela Lagreca
  14. Multicultural Award for the Advancement of Dental Research (cash prize donated by Dr. Kistama Naidu, D02): Johnson FongNuclear and Genomic Alterations in SMO-inhibited Basal Cell Carcinoma Cells” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Addy Alt-Holland
  15. Research Recap Video Challenge Award (cash prize donated by TUDAA): Nuba Afzal SiddiqiRetrospective Assessment of SDF Treated Teeth in Two Dental Schools” - Faculty Mentor: Dr. Andrea Zandona

We would like to recognize and thank the following organizations or individuals that support us:

42 North Dental
Dr. Chad Anderson, D04
Brasseler USA
Dentsply Sirona
Door to Door Dental
Doctors Disability Specialists
Eastern Dentists Insurance Company
Dr. Matthew Finkelman
Hu-Friedy Group
Ivoclar-Vivadent, Inc
Massachusetts Dental Society
New England Family Dentistry
Nobel Biocare
Dr. Aikaterini Papathanasiou
Dr. Steven Tonelli, D80
Ultradent Products, Inc.

Tufts University acknowledges the support of these sponsors and corporate attendees, but does not necessarily share their views and does not endorse, support or promote any of the sponsors, corporate attendees or their services or products.

Special thanks to the following Tufts faculty, staff and students:

Research Committee:
Dr. Addy Alt-Holland
Dr. Maria Avrampou
Ms. Pamela Corrado
Ms. Eileen Doherty
Ms. Katie Dunn
Dr. Matthew Finkelman
Dr. Maria Hernandez
Anna Kim, D24
Ray Kim, D26
Dr. Gerard Kugel
Dr. Miriam Malament
Dr. Sarah Pagni
Dr. Evangelos Papathanasiou
Krupa Patel, D25
Dr. Ronald Perry
Mackenzie Stephens, D23
Dr. Naciye Guzin Uzel
Dr. Pamela Yelick
Yau-Hua Yu
Dr. Athanasios Zavras
Dr. Driss Zoukhri

Bates-Student Research Group and Andrews Society officers:
Jiahui Huang – Co-President
Gina Kim – Co-President
Nicholas Wong – Vice President
Daniela Cojocaru - Secretary
Megha Kanabar – Treasurer
Natalie Tran – Social Media