Named Professorships at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine

Generosity from alumni and friends makes it possible for Tufts University School of Dental Medicine (TUSDM) to award deserving faculty with named professorships.

Dr. Erling Johansen, D49, Endowed Professorship in Dental Research

Athena Papas

Athena S. Papas, D.M.D., Ph.D., J67 

The first endowed professorship in TUSDM’s history, this professorship was established in 1999 through an estate gift from Edward Becker, D.M.D., D34, H94 in honor of his friend, Erling Johansen, D.M.D., Ph.D., D49, the school’s longest-serving dean at TUSDM.  As Johansen’s pioneering research in preventive dentistry led to the development of an oral health management system for cancer patients. This professorship is conferred upon a leader in the field of dental research.

Delta Dental of Massachusetts Professorship in Public Health and Community Service

Thanos Zavras

Athanasios (Thanos) Zavras, D.D.S., M.S., D.M.Sc., DG93 

Community service and public health are at the heart of TUSDM’s mission and are integrated into the teaching curriculum. Established in 2006 through a gift from Delta Dental Plan of Massachusetts, this professorship is awarded to a leader in public health dentistry who is responsible for initiatives and programs at TUSDM, with the long-term vision of eliminating barriers to oral health care access; improving care for patients with special needs and underserved populations. The first holder of this professorship is Catherine Hayes, D.M.D., S.M., D.M.Sc., D87.

Winkler Professorship of Endodontics

Robert Amato

Robert B. Amato, D.M.D., D80, DG83 

This professorship was established in 2013 through a gift from the estate of Thomas F. Winkler III, D.M.D., A62, D66, D10P, DG12P.  A proud double Jumbo, Dr. Winkler was an endodontist, long-time faculty member at TUSDM, and leader in the dental profession. He served as university trustee, chair of the dental school’s Board of Advisors, and member of the School of Arts and Sciences’ Board of Advisors. A role model to everyone, Dr. Winkler was admired for his thoughtfulness, integrity, and dedication to his patients, colleagues, and students. The first holder of this professorship is Daniel B. Green, D.D.S.

Dr. Robert D. Buchanan, D46, Professorship

Carlos Kose Junior

Carlos Kose Junior, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D. 

This professorship was established in 2022 through a gift from the estate of Robert D. Buchanan, D.M.D., D46. The late Buchanan was a loyal alumnus, dental practitioner, educator, and notable philanthropist. To many, he is well known as the man behind the bronze statue sitting in the lobby of the School of Dental Medicine building. In recognition of the important role that educators play in training future oral health professionals, this professorship is conferred upon a clinical professor whose role as a dental educator is connected to the field of operative dentistry.

Dr. Hilde H. Tillman, D49, Professorship in Geriatric Dentistry

Karin Arsenault

Karin V. Arsenault, D.M.D., M.P.H., D94 

This professorship was established in 2023 through a gift from the Tillman Charitable Foundation, in memory of Hilde H. Tillman, D.M.D., D49. Dr. Tillman was a member of the Tufts faculty for 59 years and a leading champion in the field of geriatric dentistry. She was instrumental in developing Tufts’ geriatric dentistry program, which has grown to become a unique educational model, blending academic knowledge and community outreach to effectively serve a diverse aging population. This professorship supports a faculty leader whose focus is teaching, advancing research and oral health care for the geriatric population.