Distinguished Professors

The honorary title of “Distinguished Professor” was created in 1985 and is reserved for a very small number of senior professors who have made exceptional contributions to their disciplines, to their students, and to the University as teachers/scholars exemplifying the finest of Tufts’ traditions. Distinguished Professors are recommended by School Deans and approved by the Provost and President and reported to the Trustee Academic Affairs Committee.

Distinguished Professors are recognized as pre-eminent authorities in their fields and their accomplishments are exemplified by outstanding teaching, mentoring, discovery and service. Tufts University School of Dental Medicine is grateful to the following individuals for their deep and enduring contributions.



Athena S. Papas, DMD, PhD, FACD, J67
Distinguished Professor of Diagnostic Sciences
Dr. Erling Johansen, D49, Professor in Dental Research
Head of the Oral Medicine Division


Erling Johansen, DMD, PhD, D49 *
Dean Emeritus and Distinguished Professor of General Dentistry


Chris Doku, DMD, MSD, D58, DG60*
Associate Dean and Distinguished Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Emeritus