Skip to main content
School of Dental Medicine

Robert Kasberg

Associate Dean
Admissions and Student Affairs

Robert Kasberg

Robert Kasberg

Associate Dean
Admissions and Student Affairs

Phone (617) 636-6539
1 Kneeland Street, Boston, MA 02111

Robert Kasberg is the associate dean for admissions and student affairs at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine.

Dr. Kasberg joined TUSDM in 2012. During his time here, he has spearheaded the Adapting to Diversity in Dentistry seminar series, developed a summer reading program devoted to enhance cultural competency for faculty, staff, and students, revamped the ethics committee, initiated a student wellness program, and implemented recruitment strategies that have led to the admission of some of the most diverse classes in TUSDM history.

Before joining TUSDM, Dr. Kasberg served as visiting lecturer and academic adviser at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. He then became assistant dean at Indiana University Graduate School where he focused on African-American and Latino graduate student recruitment and helped increase the number of African-American and Latino doctoral students in biomedical science programs. In 2002, he was named director of admissions for Indiana University School of Dentistry (IUSD), and in 2005, assistant dean for student affairs in addition to director of admissions.

In the fall of 2009, the IUSD Alumni Association selected Dr. Kasberg as Honorary Alumnus, and in the winter of 2010, the IUSD faculty elected him the Theta Theta Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.

Dr. Kasberg began his career in the U.S. Navy and served as a Navy Corpsman with the Marine Corps. He then joined the U.S. Peace Corps and worked for six years in the Philippines with Tribal Filipinos on the island of Mindoro in the areas of community development, land tenure issues, health care training, and agro-forestry.

Dr. Kasberg has a B.A. in anthropology from in Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, and a Ph.D. in anthropology from Yale University based on upon his dissertation Gubatnun Ethnomedicine: Religion, illness and medicine among the western Hanunoo written after two years of ethnographic field research in the Philippines.

Ph.D. in Anthropology, Yale University, 1994
M. Phil. in Anthropology, Yale University, 1989
BA in Anthropology, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI), 1987
Professional Experience: 

Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine


Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Indiana University School of Dentistry


Director of Admissions, Indiana University School of Dentistry-IUPUI


Assistant Dean, Indiana University Graduate School-IUPUI


Senior Research Associate, IU Center on Philanthropy-IUPUI


Academic Counselor, Undergraduate Education Center-IUPUI


Visiting Lecturer, Anthropology-IUPUI


Consultant (Voluntary), Kabilyan Watershed Project, Oriental Mindoro, Philippines


Honorary Researcher (Voluntary), Philippine National Museum, Manila, Philippines


Ethnographer, Doctoral-Field Research, Gubatnun Ethnomedicine: Religion, Illness, and Healing among the Western Hanunoo

Selected Honors and Awards: 
Dental Pipeline National Learning Institute Grant, 2013
Elected to IUSD Theta Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon, 2010
Honorary Member, IUSD Alumnae Association, 2009
NIH Bridges to the Doctorate Grant, 2002
Grant for Minority Achievement Scholarship Program, annual renewal, 1996-2001
Grant for Summer Research Opportunities Program, annual renewal, 1996-2000
Outstanding Associate Faculty in Liberal Arts, 1995
Fulbright IIE Grant, 1990
Yale Center for International and Area Studies Grant, 1990
Council on Southeast Asia Studies Luce Grant, 1989
Professional Memberships: 
Steering Committee for the Center on Southeast Asia -IUPUI, Associate
IUPUI Summer Research Opportunities Program, Director
IUPUI Minority Achievers program, Co-Chair
IUPUI Enrollment Management Group, Member
IUSD Admissions Committee, Member
IUSD Progress Committee, Member
IUSD Professional Conduct Committee, Member
ADEA, Member
AFASA, Member