Omicron Kappa Upsilon

Xi Xi Chapter – Tufts University School Of Dental Medicine

Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the National Dental Honor Society was founded in 1914 to recognize scholarship and character in the dental profession. Each year, only the top 12% of the graduating class are chosen for induction.   Since its inception, membership in Omicron Kappa Upsilon has come to represent one of the highest honors attainable within the dental profession. Consideration for nomination begins objectively with high scholarship. Subjective factors such as character, potential for leadership, professionalism and ethics are then considered. Outstanding accomplishments as a pre-doctoral student qualifies you for membership.

Our Chapter, XiXi Chapter, began its inception in 1944.

2015-16 XiXi Chapter Officers are:

  • Dr. Robert Kasberg, President
  • Dr. Charles Rankin, Vice President
  • Dr. Karen Wallach, Secretary-Treasurer

Our chapter currently has 210 active members.  Active members are members who have paid their dues every year.  There are 98 Life members.  Life members are exempt from paying dues when you have reached the age of 60 and have been a dues-paying member for 30 years.

Dues help support for the yearly activities of this chapter, which include:

  • Induction of new members this year at the Convocation dinner and graduation
  • Yearly student Scholarships and Achievement Awards including the Bates Day Research Award
  • Purchase of OKU Stoles to wear at graduation, OKU Pins and OKU Certificates for new members
  • Convocation Dinner activities (to be held on May 20, 2016)

Chapter News

Twenty-two students were inducted into the national dental honor society, Omicron Kappa Upsilon, at a ceremony on May 5, 2015 at the Revere Hotel Boston. The guest speaker was Dr. Dr. Hafsatou Diop, State MCH Epidemiologist at the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.

The D’15/IS’15 student inductees were:

Joke A. Alesh Michael J. Lee
Alyssa Lynn Benitez Daniel B. Lim
Erick Witkie Brotman Srijanani Manohar *
Stacey Y. Cha Shayna Lee Mesko
Anne J. Chon Rodney Nakano Nishimoto
James M. Cogliano Margaret E. Reid
Lindsay Anne Fox Erin L. Saucier
Elissa Beth Green Emily Ann Schadt
Andrew D. Henning Alexander R. Toth
Jenna Caroline Hubacz Alan Jay Yee
Kezia Anila Jacob Dexter K. Yee
 *International Student


OKU also inducts faculty members and honorary members who are nominated by OKU faculty.  Faculty members are dentists who are members of the dental school faculty who have been elected to membership in recognition of outstanding contributions to the art, science, or literature of dentistry. The 2015 faculty inductees were Dr. Darren Drag, Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health & Community Service and Dr. Aruna Ramesh, Associate Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Diagnostic Services.

An honorary member, who is not a dentist, is also inducted who is nominated by an OKU faculty member.  The honorary inductee is any individual who has been elected to membership in recognition of outstanding contributions to the art, science or literature of dentistry. The 2015 Honorary Faculty Member was Dr. Pamela C. Yelick, Professor.

If you are a member of XiXi Chapter and have not been an active member in recent years, I hope you will reconsider. It is through the support of its members we can continue with the important programs for the students. The annual membership fee is $60.

If you are a life member and want to contribute to these student awards, it would be greatly appreciated.

Make check payable to OKU and send to:

Patty DiAngelis
Department of Diagnosis & Health Promotion
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
One Kneeland Street
Boston, MA 02111

For more information about the national organization, visit the OKU National website at