Bates-Andrews Research Day 2014

A tradition since 1935, Bates-Andrews Research Day has been giving predoctoral and postdoctoral students the opportunity to showcase their research activities for nearly 80 years. And every year it seems to get bigger.

 View Photo Album  Pictured: Aditi Jindal, a PG Resident in Pediatric Dentistry(J.D. Sloan Photography)

The event, organized by the Department of Research Administration, the Bates Student Research Group, the Andrews Society, and the TUSDM Research Committee, took place on March 5 on the 14th and 15th floors of the dental school. It was the largest to date, with 78 student poster presentations. Student researchers include 65 representatives from the D14, D15 and D16 classes, as well as 12 residents in the General Practice Residency, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Craniofacial Pain, Periodontology, Pediatric Dentistry, and the Implant Fellowship. Dean Huw Thomas said the event demonstrates the importance of research to the school and the university as a whole.

“Bates-Andrews Day gives our students the opportunity to share with the rest of the Tufts community their accomplishments in fields of special interest,” Dean Thomas said. “I applaud them for their initiative and achievements.”

Students presented their posters throughout the day, and were given a chance to be judged for various awards. The 15th floor also housed a commercial exhibition throughout the day, where sponsors like Dentsply, Colgate and Johnson & Johnson handed out samples and offered information to students, faculty and staff. There were 24 exhibitors and contributors to the event.

Dr. Carroll Ann Trotman, Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthodontics, delivered the keynote presentation titled “Restoration of Soft Tissue Dynamics and Form in the Cleft Patient” in Rachel’s Amphitheater. Both Dean Thomas and Dr. Gerard Kugel, the Associate Dean of Research Administration, congratulated students, faculty and staff on their efforts during the awards ceremony at the end of the event.

The winners of the Bates-Andrews Research Day are:

  • Dr. Daniel Coleman, resident in the Department of Periodontology, who won Best Postgraduate Research Presentation for “Accuracy of Periodontal Probing Depth and Calculus Detection Through the Use of Kinoshita Nissin Periodontal Dental Model.” His faculty mentors were Dr. Paul Levi, Jr., Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Periodntology and Dr. Matthew Finkelman, Assistant Professor in Office of Academic Affairs.
  • Kyler McEwen, D14, who won the Andrews Society Award for Best Scientific Research Presentation by a Senior for “Shear Bond Strength of Different Dentin and Zirconia Treatments.” His faculty mentor was Dr. Ronald Perry, Clinical Professor in the Department of Research Administration.
  • Elizabeth Bingham, D15, who won the ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Award for Best Overall Predoctoral Table Clinic for “Dab2 Depletion Modifies E-cadherin Expression in Squamous Cell Carcinoma Cells.” Her faculty mentor was Dr. Addy Alt-Holland, Assistant Professor in the Department of Research Administration.
  • Jonathan Bishop, D16, who won the Second Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic for  “Effect of Phosphoric Acid on Vitrebond Plus Resin-Modified Glass Ionomer.” His faculty mentors were Drs. Melissa Ing and Steven Eisen, Associate Professors in the Department of Prosthodontics and Operative Dentistry, and Gerard Kugel, Professor and Associate Dean of Research Administration.
  • John Constantine, D16, who won the Third Place Award for Predoctoral Table Clinic for “Properties of Silk Electrogels: Functional Vehicles for Drug Delivery.” His faculty mentors were Drs. Kugel and David Kaplan.
  • Jacqueline Servais, D15, who won the Research Committee Award for Basic Science Research for “Anti-VEGF Therapy Inhibits Hypothyroidism Associated with Infantile Hemangioma.”
  • Douglas Kim, D16, who won the Massachusetts Dental Society and ASDA Public Health Award for “Retrospective Study of Oral Health Program in a Rural Zambian Community.” His faculty mentor was Dr. John Morgan, Associate Professor in the Department of Public Health and Community Service.
  • Stephanie Brue, D14, who won the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) Hilde Tillman Award for “Comparing Microabrasion Techniques for in vitro White Spot Lesion Removal.” Her faculty mentor was Dr. Kugel.
  • Shruti Pore, D14, who won the Procter &  Gamble Traveling Fellowship Award for “Microenvironmental Cues Affect Dab2 Expression in Squamous Cell Carcinoma Development. “ Her faculty mentor was Dr. Alt-Holland.
  • Christina Penn, D16, who won the Dr. Chad Anderson Family Award for Innovative Methodology and Research Design for “Thermal Effect Due to Laser and Handpiece Usage on Pulp.” Her faculty mentors were Drs. Perry, Kugel, and Masly Harsono, Assistant Professor in the Department of Research Administration.
  • Vishavjeet Girn, D15, who won the Multicultural Award for the Advancement of Dental Research for “Comparison of Mechanical Properties of Dental Restorative Material.” His faculty mentors were Drs. Harsono and Kugel, and Angel Park, Research Analyst for the Office of Academic Affairs.
  • Christina Piacquadio, D16, who won the Oral Health Disparities Award for “Occupational Therapy and Oral Health of Individuals with Developmental/Acquired Disabilities.” Her faculty mentors were Dr. Wanda Wright, Assistant Professor in the Department of Public Health and Community Service, Dr. Finkelman, Park, and Dr. Morgan.
  • Taylor Newman, D15, who won the Bates Student Research Group “Peer-reviewed” Award for “Assessing the Level of Evidence in Post-Graduate Experience at TUSDM,” with Dr. Irina Dragan. Their faculty mentors were Dr. Nadeem Karimbux, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Dr. Paul Stark, Professor and Director of the Division of Advanced and Graduate Education.
  • Lauren Marzouca, D16, who won the ADEA Student Group Educational Research Award for “Student Self-evaluation Versus Faculty Assessment of Operative Competencies: An Analysis of Calibration.” Her faculty mentors were Drs. Eisen, Kugel, and Finkelman.

To see photos from the event, click here.